HSI Rating
4.3 /10
Customer Rating

"I have had HughesNet for nine month, service is fast for wired connections, decent for wifi..."

Leisa Hunt | Youngstown, FL

Rating breakdown

2.2
Overall

Speed

Pricing

Service

44 Customer Reviews

Would not recommend this provider. Internet is slow, data times are ridiculous and waste of money. Will not renew contract with them and thinking about buying out the contract so i can be done with them. Very unhappy.

Tracy Anderson Tuscola, IL 2017-02-07

Was this review helpful?    


The service is great. I don't worry about the internet not working or going out. However I wish we could get better speed for our money.

Kari Stubbs Spartanburg, SC 2017-01-16

Was this review helpful?    

0/2 people found this review helpful

See if is available in your area

Or see availability map


I live in a rural area and all I can get is sattalite internet and it is slow and cost to much and you loose your service every time it rains or a cloud go over

Rebecca Cox 2017-01-12

Was this review helpful?    

I was with Suddenlink & had to leave due to finances. Hugh's net offered me a deal I thought was great. I found their wifi only works when you buy a modem, then the speed is slow, the IP Address is always failing, the signal goes from strong to weak like a roller coaster! If I leave my property I've got to re-program my cell to the WiFi options every time. If I'm watching Direct TV on demand. My signal gets lost or tied up buffering for hours only to stop the movie after five minutes every time then tell me try later! I'm sorry I have Hugh's Net! :(

Kim Sommerfield Onalaska, TX 2017-01-05

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


I was with Suddenlink & had to leave due to finances. Hugh's net offered me a deal I thought was great. I found their wifi only works when you buy a modem, then the speed is slow, the IP Address is always failing, the signal goes from strong to weak like a roller coaster! If I leave my property I've got to re-program my cell to the WiFi options every time. If I'm watching Direct TV on demand. My signal gets lost or tied up buffering for hours only to stop the movie after five minutes every time then tell me try later! I'm sorry I have Hugh's Net! :(

Kim Sommerfield Onalaska, TX 2017-01-05

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


At first thought I was getting a great deal but i run out of bandwidth in 10-15 days unless i use it between 2am abd 8am and connection gets dropped a lot.

Chuck Johnsey Alpine, CA 2016-12-30

Was this review helpful?    

My provider has left me unsatisfied. I am looking for a! Internet co. That can deliv er what is promised. I really can't afford to have internet but it is hard to be without it.

Margaret Yocom Keystone Heights, FL 2016-12-26

Was this review helpful?    

Have had Hughes net service since 2011. When called for services, they wanted to charge me for a technician to come out and check. They found issues on their end and ( fixed). The tech told me everything was working fine. Service did not improve. I have 4 school age children desperately needing internet service for homework. The only time it would work was early in the morning like 2-6 am. Then spotty at best. When I called to cancel my service, they offered me a free upgrade. I felt that If I was a valued customer, that they should have already taken care of our needs as a family with limited income.

Troy Farmer Assaria, KS 2016-12-12

Was this review helpful?    

Speed is not fast enough the price is to high, it goes off when I need it this is in west union sc

Maudie Wood West Union, SC 2016-11-02

Was this review helpful?    

0/4 people found this review helpful


I've been tryin to find a decent, & reasonably priced internet service provider for me & my girlfriend, in our current city we reside in, that we can afford & more importantly a provider we qualify for. We have lived here for over 10yrs & have outstanding bills w/ the most used providers in our town & until this site we've had NO luck finding any other providers so this site has proven to be a very useful & valuable asset for us. Thank you for the great site & the hard work for putting it all together for ppl like us to enjoy our tablets, laptops, & recently purchased smart TV's.

Tyler Barton Russell, KS 2016-10-07

Was this review helpful?    

0/11 people found this review helpful


They are way over priced its not worth the money at all!! If you want to pay a hundred dollars a month it would be ok.

Jeff Alexander Phoenix, AZ 2016-09-17

Was this review helpful?    

0/18 people found this review helpful


Hughes net is a very reliable enternet and they are the cheapest in my area,they have very outstanding employees that come out and do a excellent job.

Penny Clark 2016-09-07

Was this review helpful?    

0/8 people found this review helpful


The area where we live is very limited in the available companies that offer Internet access or phone services. We have found Hughes net to be very slow during peak periods, (evenings, weekends and during the middle of the day also). We have been very disappointed in the quality of service due mostly because of the constant buffering and the download speed isn't as promised.

Sharon Underwood Blountsville, AL 2016-09-02

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


Worst company I have ever dealt with. Do not use! They can't provide the services they claim and will nickle and dime you to death. They get no stars for me for anything.

DeAnn Wilson Lucerne Valley, CA 2016-08-02

Was this review helpful?    

0/3 people found this review helpful


HughesNet was confusing and not user friendly. Technical support was not helpful and was rude. I recommend that any NOT use HughesNet.

Dianne Joachim Fulton, MS 2016-04-05

Was this review helpful?    

79/82 people found this review helpful


We invested in HughesNet because we live out in the country. It was the biggest mistake I made. I can't seem to do anything without using up the allowed download. We can't watch movies, YOUTube, play games or barely anything else. We just got our monthly download on the tenth, it is the seventeenth and we have used 40% of out allowed download. IU use to do things on the computer now I basically stay off it or wait until I can go to the library. We have called numerous times to complain and they always give us the run around. Their help center must be in another country because I have a lot of trouble understanding them. I had to buy the equipment upfront because my credit rating is bad because of an illness. We only keep HughesNet because we can't find another internet provider in our area and need internet for email. Not worth the price or the grief!

Suzy Mccawley 2016-03-17

Was this review helpful?    

70/70 people found this review helpful


HughesNet service is horribly slow, they have ridiculously small data limits and throttle(slow)your connection speed when you reach those data limits. When they do this the Internet connection is barely useable. They have Indian customer service/support. This is a horrible Internet provider! Avoid!

Liam P Ford, WA 2016-02-01

Was this review helpful?    

38/39 people found this review helpful


hughesnet is as good as it gets where i live, its my only option when it comes to internet connection,good speed most of the time but cap on data so cant watch movies ect.

Lrry Bishop Pigeon Forge, TN 2016-01-07

Was this review helpful?    

23/25 people found this review helpful


they are a good company fast speeds but could do better on tech support u get the run around

Keith Abshire Rocky Gap, VA 2015-11-24

Was this review helpful?    

12/16 people found this review helpful


I have had hughes.net for awhile now and im quite satisfied with it.The price is very affordable and the speed is quick.I would definitely recommed hughes.net to my family and friends and to everyone!

Derek Jennings 2015-11-21

Was this review helpful?    

7/16 people found this review helpful


We have had a lot of trouble, from being misquoted rates, a constantly changing rate, and exceeding their data limit. I do sweepstakes, and it really limits my internet access, the speed is ok. We live in an area out in the sticks where internet access is very limited. We are also on a fixed income, so a very low rate is super important to us. Would love to win a year of free internet. Thank you for offering this!

Dee Lafrenz Spring Valley, WI 2015-09-14

Was this review helpful?    

10/12 people found this review helpful


I like the speed of the internet services. Customer service is knowledgeable and timely in helping with trouble and services provided.

Fred Freeman Visalia, CA 2015-08-29

Was this review helpful?    

5/13 people found this review helpful


Hughes Net is very expensive , you will have to get the highest service to have any decent speed or bandwidth. There is a two year contract. If you are able to get Xfinity in your area, run away from this provider.

Eugene Pilcher Rockvale, TN 2015-08-06

Was this review helpful?    

13/13 people found this review helpful


Crappy service they say it's unlimited but that's a lie the only reason I gave them one star is because when I called to complain they did give me additional bandwidth but other than that they are a misleading company and I'll use the Internet on my phone before I use a service like theirs again!

Carmilla Collins Kansas City, MO 2015-07-14

Was this review helpful?    

21/22 people found this review helpful


We live in the Smoky Mountains and this HughesNet is the best for where we live , the speeds are good and it's a good price per month, we can go to anywhere on the internet search and they have free tokens you can build up to use if you use your GB for the month, it is a great service

Crystal Walker Newport, TN 2015-07-09

Was this review helpful?    

6/9 people found this review helpful


This provider was who I first used when my home was built in Forney. They are overpriced for the little amount of internet you are paying for. Awful!

Jena Swanner 2015-06-14

Was this review helpful?    

10/10 people found this review helpful


Great Customer Service. Horrible internet. This internet is too slow and too expensive. Hughes net had a hard time loading pages, and forget about trying to use netflix or looking at images while shopping.

Amanda Lock Sterling, CO 2015-06-09

Was this review helpful?    

6/6 people found this review helpful


Really disappointed in this company. Very friendly tech. Quick service to put in. But, the service is slower than advertised and intermittent. Tech told me when he came out again that the neighbor's tree might be a problem later and that I should ask them to trim it. This was not possible. The neighbor's tree is a problem now and they wanted to charge me to come out and move the dish. Not my fault. Cancelled my service as soon as possible at a cost of one hundred and ninety dollars. DON"T use this company. Always got someone I could barely understand and did nothing to help. Always "nothing wrong with equipment" and call us back if you have trouble. VERY frustrating.

Pat Lallande Fort Lauderdale, FL 2015-05-24

Was this review helpful?    

52/52 people found this review helpful


Really disappointed in this company. Very friendly tech. Quick service to put in. But, the service is slower than advertised and intermittent. Tech told me when he came out again that the neighbor's tree might be a problem later and that I should ask them to trim it. This was not possible. The neighbor's tree is a problem now and they wanted to charge me to come out and move the dish. Not my fault. Cancelled my service as soon as possible at a cost of one hundred and ninety dollars. DON"T use this company. Always got someone I could barely understand and did nothing to help. Always "nothing wrong with equipment" and call us back if you have trouble. VERY frustrating.

Pat Lallande Fort Lauderdale, FL 2015-05-24

Was this review helpful?    

23/24 people found this review helpful


Hughes net installed service at my home but I had no service that was ever detectable...I requested refund, they refused to reimburse

Cindy Bell Lubbock, TX 2015-05-06

Was this review helpful?    

66/67 people found this review helpful


Hughesnet, in my area, is the lesser of two evils. Had many problems for the first month, and was constantly on the phone with customer support. (yuk) ninety five % of the time, it was in Pakistan or India and they spoke (english?). it was very frustrating. I have their top plan (ultra), with fifty gig prime time, plus fifty gig bonus time, two am to six am. Yea, really usable. Ran out of data halfway thru the billing cycle. The sales department was not entirely honest. They told me that rain, snow, or clouds would not affect the signal. (ha) Only severe weather would. My wife really is disatisfied, but better weather is on the way, so I will give them the benefit of doubt. Also, the download bounces all over the place. All in all, the service is not very dependable... Oh, I forgot. Initally, i bundled trhe phone service, but it has so much static that I cancelled that in two days..

Jim W Amity, OR 2015-03-05

Was this review helpful?    

9/9 people found this review helpful


I like HughesNet, my only problem is that the data is so limited...I wish I could find a provider that didn't limit my data.

Shawna D Willow Wood, OH 2015-01-21

Was this review helpful?    

9/9 people found this review helpful


The connection is effected by the rain and bad weather. Many times no connection. The status meter is good and keeps you from going over. A bit expensive for what you get. I worry about our tree falling on the receiver in bad weather. I will not recommend Hughes to anyone with in the city limits. If you are in a remote area and no other service is around then it is your answer.

Deborah S Hampton, VA 2015-01-19

Was this review helpful?    

11/11 people found this review helpful


this company says it has fast service, but after you get it, it is slow and frusterating to use.

Randy Gunderson Thompson, ND 2015-01-03

Was this review helpful?    

8/9 people found this review helpful


Have called several time to get the speeds needed and have upgraded to higher plan and the speeds are the same as my previous plan. Have requested a new modem and they keep telling me it is okay but they can not fix my speeds. Tech support keeps telling me when I call that they are rebooting modem and changing setting each time I call. Will be cancelling service.

Steve G Amanda, OH 2014-12-02

Was this review helpful?    

12/12 people found this review helpful


I have had HughesNet for nine months. When functioning properly, service is fast for wired connections, decent for wifi. Pricing is on the high end. You reallly have to watch your data cap on this. Not like cable internet. The pluses are less outages and fast speed. Their agents however are hard to understand and will tell you they have accomplished things with your account when they haven't actually gotten them through. This has been my experience.

Leisa Hunt Youngstown, FL 2014-10-24

Was this review helpful?    

10/10 people found this review helpful


Not good for gaming!! Just horrible. Its always lagging when i play games and it makes almost any game impossible to play

Trent W Mc Rae, AR 2014-10-11

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


Downloads are of acceptable speed, uploading not as fast, and there are limitations imposed by the technology that make working with a VPN difficult or not impossible in most instances. The data limits monthly on even the top service plan are severely limiting....people complain about the price, and rightly so, but it's actually (considerably) less than comparable data plan on a major wireless carrier. Streaming media from the cloud is not really much of an option...and buffering often is inadequate with the speeds actually attained using it, not even considering how much of the monthly data allowance doing so eats up. Image and sound quality on services like Skype are very poor with this setup (even using a direct gig ethernet card and CATSix wire to the satellite modem).

RadSteve G Miramonte, CA 2014-07-15

Was this review helpful?    

30/31 people found this review helpful


I recently switched to Hughes Net from a hot spot with Verizon. I live in an area where local cable services are not available so satellite and hot spots are the only options. I was paying a great deal of money and getting little service with Verizon, so I moved. Since changing I have enjoyed fast speeds, great customer service, and a well rounded service provider. I had a small snag the first month on billing, they fixed the mistake and then gave me an additional amount off for the next couple of months for the trouble. Well more than I anticipated and they far surpassed my expectations. Wonderful provider and I recommend often.

Donna Walker Hayes, VA 2014-06-24

Was this review helpful?    

8/10 people found this review helpful


The internet is slow and lags and the pricing is too high! They need more internet providers in my area because hughes net is bad on every account including customer service! Wish we could change!

Cody Adams Canton, TX 2014-06-18

Was this review helpful?    

67/69 people found this review helpful


Where I live, I am limited to my choices of internet. Satellite is practically my only option. I have been with HughesNet for over 5 years now. I must say that the first 4 years were kind of tough. It was out almost as much as it was working. However, I upgraded to HughesNet Gen4, and it is much better! Though it isn't as fast as I would like, and I sometimes have to wait several days for service if something goes wrong, I do have more data, less downtime, and over all better service with the Gen4.

Rhonda Grisham Lebanon, TN 2014-06-18

Was this review helpful?    

22/26 people found this review helpful


Hughesnet is our only option, otherwise we would already have something else! The prices are high, the speeds are moderate, at best and fluctuate several times a day.

Tammy OHagan Thornton, WV 2014-05-03

Was this review helpful?    

110/137 people found this review helpful


The speed is great on HughesNet AS LONG AS you are paying for one of the top two tiers. It's expensive to say the least! If you start at a lower tier, you're going to be really frustrated with the way the internet slows down when you run out of your daily data ration. Then, you'll have to suffer through phone calls with their spotty customer service until you're finally paying more than you thought you would. Speed is awesome as long as you're willing to pay for it.

Leisa Wooten Youngstown, FL 2014-03-21

Was this review helpful?    

36/37 people found this review helpful


Its new to me, I miss AT&T but can't get it where I live anymore since I moved. The internet cuts out a lot and I continually am having to refresh the page.

CHRYSTAL ALES Kneeland, CA 2014-03-20

Was this review helpful?    

48/51 people found this review helpful


Hughesnet is an OK provider. The bad part is that you ate limited on the amount you can download. It's the only Internet I can get where I live.

Matthew Alaniz Mission, TX 2014-03-19

Was this review helpful?    

12/12 people found this review helpful


I live in an area where cable and dsl are not offered. Hughesnet is faster than dialup but expensive and do not offer anything to loyal customers. They also limit your download to around 300 mb so the tought of streaming a movie is out and there is too much lag time to use voip. They have us over a bucket, so we just have to deal with it. Just pray that nothing goes wrong with your system because it takes more than a week for a service tech to come out to fix anything.

Daniel McNulty 2012-04-24

Was this review helpful?    

186/214 people found this review helpful

Details about brand prices, speeds, and other features may not be readily available for all brands and are always subject to change. While the brand reviews on HighSpeedInternet.com are well researched and every attempt is made to keep the information up to date, limited access to relevant information may cause occasional inaccuracies.