HSI Rating
6.8 /10
Customer Rating

"Frontier broadband is a great internet service provider..."

Marie Burgess-Collins | Madison, IN

Rating breakdown

2.0
Overall

Speed

Pricing

Service

56 Frontier Communications Customer Reviews

Great service when it works. Call technical support about twice a month because it keeps dropping. A little on the pricey side. Sometimes my internet will drop for two weeks at a time and tech support cannot find out what went wrong.

Mike Ericson Upland, CA 2017-03-17

Was this review helpful?    


Internet is slow, but it is all that is offered, except Time Warner, in the township where we live. Some devices won't pick up signal at all. Lightning hit tree and elec. comp. cut cable wire; Frontier monkey-rigged then did not return for 4 months to fix it properly. We don't have much choice.

Pat Shapaka Medina, OH 2017-03-16

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful

See if Frontier Communications is available in your area

Or see availability map


Worst company! The have TAPPED OUT the Quinlan, Texas area! They are still selling out to customers. You cannot even watch 1 movie to the end without interruptions! I have contacted FCC! I want my money back! This is a scam that they are doing to people in this area! Stay away from them!

Alicia Lee West Tawakoni, TX 2017-03-16

Was this review helpful?    

This is the most incompetent company I have ever dealt with. Weeks with no service, waiting for yet another service person. No internet, no landline and they just put it in their computer and you wait. IF YOU HAVE A CHOICE DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE. We will be taking our complaints to FCC. They should not be in business...

B Broyles Frankton, IN 2017-01-26

Was this review helpful?    

0/2 people found this review helpful


I have sent a letter to the FCC in the past to see if Frontier can get better internet service and Frontier keeps saying it should get better in 6 months for the last 3 years. The FCC notified Frontier promptly and Frontier did check what they could but you can't push 8 inches of internet through a 2 inch hose. So with no other providers I have no choice and still pay for up to 6 mbp and get less.

Virgil Johnson Scandia, MN 2016-12-23

Was this review helpful?    

0/2 people found this review helpful


I've had Frontier FIOS for 14 months now and although I would love to switch to another provider, because of where I live I'm stuck with them. Their customer service is probably the worst I've ever experienced. Today I spent over 2 1/2 hrs on the phone with one of their technicians trying to determine why I didn't have internet service - during our conversation he suggested a 'fix' which ultimately crashed my system completely and then he said there was nothing they could do now to fix it, I needed to contact someone from Netgear. I asked to speak with a supervisor & was told someone would call me back in 15-20 min. Approx 2 1/2 hrs later I finally got a call from Frontier while I was on the phone with someone trying to fix the problem, so I did not answer the call immediately; they called again a few min later while I was still on the phone & then left a message saying that since I didn't respond to their call they were closing my ticket. When I called back 15 min later, explaining the situation, I was told that since I didn't respond to the supervisor's call when it was coming in, the only recourse I had was to send in a complaint in by mail. Remember - they caused the problem! 5 hrs after the beginning of this debacle, I finally called my son across the country and in less than 5 min he figured out the problem and got me up and going again. This is the 3rd or 4th time I've called with issues and although the other calls were less frustrating, I can't say I've ever had a good customer service experience with Frontier. What good is a speedy connection if it doesn't work and no one from Frontier knows how/or is willing to help? Unless you are very, very tech savvy and can fix problems on your own, if you have any other choice I recommend trying there first!

Linda Cohen Forest Grove, OR 2016-12-09

Was this review helpful?    

0/2 people found this review helpful


We would still have them but their billing practices (at least when they were Verizon right before changing names to Frontier) were so inconsistent. Every month the bill was a different amount and since the misses could not get them to keep the billing consistent, they had to go.. Come on, if you have a top rate product, why can't it be sold at a standard price that never changes month to month? Even the cable company can do this. Just ridiculous. Get it together guys! I miss those faster speed connections. The speed was tops. Availability was always on. Never had technical issues with the service. Just the billing fiascos all the time.

Matt Carrell Moreno Valley, CA 2016-12-09

Was this review helpful?    

0/5 people found this review helpful


Have had Frontier Internet service since Verizon sold us out many years ago. Never had much trouble with it, but we don't do a lot of downloading of movies and music nor do we do gaming. 8 months ago our modem self-destructed, a week or so later they send a very nice guy to replace the modem. We have had nothing but major problems since then with trouble making connections and having to reboot frequently until about a month and a half ago the modem quit. We were promised a new modem sent to us in 5 -7 days. Never happened. I called again and asked for a trouble call meaning a tech would come to the house. Four different non-sequential days we were told between 8 and 5 he would appear. Never happened. Sometime after that we found someone had left a modem on our doorstep. Not through UPS or Fed-Ex or USPS, just dropped of for us to install ourselves. After numerous calls and hours on the phone, we finally got it to NOT work. We were promised another trouble call person would show up four work days hence. Three days later the thing started working but it still took an hour on the phone to hook it up. Terrible, awful, crappy service!!! Now it works for the most part, but we cannot hook up our new laptop and Frontier says it is the manufacturer's tech support who will be able to help us. Sure! Looking for new provider but prices are really high for old folks who just want email and Amazon.

Chuck Weller Brookings, OR 2016-12-05

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


I just had their internet set up this morning, was told it will be sorted by noon, still isn't working at 7 PM. (using my Comcast internet now, thank God it's working, I may have to crawl back and ask to stay with them after this 3rd world experience). Called support, after a veerryyslow conversation on his part, eventually he hung up after long silence - he may have fallen asleep. The funny thing is he specifically asked for a number in case we are disconnected later. I never got a call. I was polite and nice all along. A bit later, chatted for about an hour online - eventually was told they're working on it, 'eventually it will work, it's not a technical problem, they're just setting up the account, it's a matter of time'. WTF? They've had about a week since I made the order. Well, at least they're cheaper than the one that actually works. Very disappointed so far, sorry!

Frank Aurmotown Redmond, WA 2016-11-29

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


With their pricing and reliability, you can't beat Frontier internet service! I recommend them to all my friends!

Amy Johns Kennewick, WA 2016-11-15

Was this review helpful?    

0/17 people found this review helpful


Extremely disappointed in service- waited over a week for a technician to arrive and establish service. The technician spoke to me and attached a device to the house and then promptly left. When we called back to find out why they didn't complete the installation, we were told the technician did not have access to the house. It has bee three days since that time and they still have not returned. This company has poor customer service and employees who are dishonest.

T Turrubiarte Denton, TX 2016-11-08

Was this review helpful?    

0/2 people found this review helpful


I was with Verizon before it became Frontier. The internet connection sucks even though they tested the speed and the router and said everything it's working fine. My Son and I often have to reboot the router because we can not get WiFi signal on our devices. I'm paying for a bundle that I don't need, Internet and Land Line. The land Line is very good just to receive phone calls from telemarketers that are very annoying that's all. If I disconnect the telephone service I will end up paying as much as with the bundle. I need to find a new Internet provider in my area.

Victor Zamora Whittier, CA 2016-11-06

Was this review helpful?    

0/2 people found this review helpful


I never know how long service will be out, it is terrible. I wish Verizon was still my provider.

Erica Phillips Baytown, TX 2016-11-01

Was this review helpful?    

I have been a Frontier customer for over 10 years. All that time, the internet has worked half the time at best. I have to reset the modem every time I want to use it. Frontier service goes between being totally unresponsive to completely incompetent. Today, I spent 5 hours on the phone, was scammed into subscribing to upgraded Premium service and now I'm in worse shape than ever...cannot send out emails and they are clueless about how to fix it. I'm 60 years old and I do not exaggerate when I say Frontier is the absolute worst company I've ever done business with, but in this area we have no other choices. They are definitely taking advantage of their monopoly position.

Rod Skotty Greene, NY 2016-10-24

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


well my internet from frontier has been out for over 2 weeks I call them most every day . they are nice on the phone when I call but each time its a different reason why its out D-fam or data card , and still not fixed. thinking of going with time/warner .at this point I don't care why its broken , I just need it to work . I signed up when it was still Verizon , back in 2009. when frontier took over about two years ago they were ok .it almost seems like when they spun off from Verizon ,they still had good equipment , now they wont or cant fix anything.

Dennis Duffey Marion, OH 2016-10-21

Was this review helpful?    

0/2 people found this review helpful


Horrible experience! I've been a customer for over 10 years. Service is lost on average 4 to 5 times a day, every day. Usually takes hours for it to return after numerous power resets. Customer service is clueless. Have called many times with no help whatsoever. Why would I stay with Frontier, you ask? Only because there are no other options in my area. Overall, Frontier is a waste of money. If I could rate them with negative stars, I would do so.

Rod Skotty Greene, NY 2016-10-04

Was this review helpful?    

The company does not have any good packages for regular residents in the Area of Pomona, the packages are extremely high in price, when other providers are a lot better and have better prices and better services, and we are obligated to Frontier because someone in the city of Pomona is packeting money from this providers so that we can get stuck with them, I was not able to find another company that will provide in my zip code, I need an explanation for this kind of services in the Cit of Pomona

Blanca Martinez Pomona, CA 2016-10-03

Was this review helpful?    

I have experiened wonderful Internet and tv satisfaction since using the provider not so much with the guide remotes that screen on the screen.

Jeffrey Huffman Denton, TX 2016-09-14

Was this review helpful?    

0/10 people found this review helpful


Internet speed is intermittent. Loss of signal is not uncommon. Customer service is worse. They claim U.S based, but it is no different than the out if country services, difficult to work with. Expensive.

I Zegers San Bernardino, CA 2016-08-29

Was this review helpful?    

0/2 people found this review helpful


Unreliable connection due to.outdated equipment and congestion on the ports. Horrible customer service and overpriced.

Joy McAllister Altamont, IL 2016-08-28

Was this review helpful?    

I have spent a total of 5 hours holding on the phone over 3 days and still our internet is not working. Worst customer service in an industry that is known for terrible customer service. We are changing carriers!

Sharon Peavy Huntington Beach, CA 2016-08-22

Was this review helpful?    

Phone and support is terrible. Wait times exceed 20 minutes every phone call. Recently had internet connection problems. I was told I did not have to be home for technician to repair it. Technician could not repair internet without me being home so internet did not get repaired. Have been told I had to wait an additional 5 days to get another repairman to the job. Meanwhile, I have no internet at all. I have internet connection problems every time it rains and their technicians do not seem to be able to fix it. Their main problem has always been their customer service, but this last issue of no internet and getting it repaired has pushed me over the edge.

Tim Willhelm Texas City, TX 2016-08-22

Was this review helpful?    

Frontier is the worst internet provider that I have ever experienced. I signed up for a much higher speed than my slow outdated one and am not noticing a difference in connection except; the only difference is our internet bill. Its been over a month and I have not received the high speed as internet as promised. Also, customer service rep was extremely rude. I am currently seeking a dependable internet service that can fulfill their plans and promises.

Ay H Moreno Valley, CA 2016-08-17

Was this review helpful?    

Absolutely horrible service. Outage problems and trying to get their tech support to respond is almost impossible. There was an occasional blip when I had Verizon Fios but since the conversion to Frontier, customer support is almost non-existent. They will have to get better in order to keep me as a customer. My reluctance to switch carriers is due to other services being available in this area.

Henry McCourt Huntington Beach, CA 2016-08-16

Was this review helpful?    

Out of service for 2 days. Called tech support and on hold for 2 hours only to have them come back to offer me more services. Tech supposed to call next day and never did. Why did Verizon change us to this?😐

Dana Kent Blue Ridge, TX 2016-08-12

Was this review helpful?    

It was a bumpy road at first, since Frontier took over for Verizon and I didn't have all my services the first month or so, phone was working intermittently and cable was out, but luckily I was still able to stream programs. When the issues were resolved, Frontier agreed to credit me the entire amount for my first month with them. So far, they are providing good service.

Lea Reiter Westlake Village, CA 2016-08-08

Was this review helpful?    

0/4 people found this review helpful


My internet service is out and after an hour of "tech support", they've put in a service ticket but no one will be able to look at it today (Monday 8:30AM), maybe tomorrow by 6:00PM (34 hours later), but could be Wednesday by 6:00PM (58 hours later). Really!!!!! Also I'm paying for 75/75 mbs but you're lucky to get half of that. Over all, not a good deal.

Dan Whitman Ellenton, FL 2016-08-08

Was this review helpful?    

When we had Verizon FiOS, we were happy. The service was good, the price was what it was...not bad for what we got. Frontier takes over without our blessing and all my e-mail accounts were lost and the ones that weren't were inaccessible. I can only access my e-mail via the web, not on my phone, tablet or Outlook. My internet speed has declined and Frontier says, "it checks out"..My home phone can't be accessed without a code and tech support is clueless. We are stuck in a contract, I didn't sign one, with Frontier for another year...Of course I can pay an early termination fee... I will not renew with Frontier...

Mike Brunette Menifee, CA 2016-08-03

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


They are a good company and are good on our phones!! So at that yes frontier is the company for me and my family

Jamie Moore Elko, NV 2016-07-28

Was this review helpful?    

0/12 people found this review helpful


They are a good company and are good on our phones!! So at that yes frontier is the company for me and my family

Jamie Moore Elko, NV 2016-07-28

Was this review helpful?    

0/12 people found this review helpful


They are a good company and are good on our phones!! So at that yes frontier is the company for me and my family

Jamie Moore Elko, NV 2016-07-28

Was this review helpful?    

0/9 people found this review helpful


Frontier purchased Verizon in our area. The transition was difficult but we were patient to give Frontier a chance to do their job after all the changes. We pay for the highest speed internet and don't get even a quarter of the speed daily. The service is intermittent. The customer service is located overseas and is difficult to understand. I have been on the phone with them for over 5 hours in the last few months with no resolution. We are paying full price and they are not providing what they promised. We are disappointed and will be switching providers as soon as we can.

Donna VE Allen, TX 2016-07-23

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


Frontier has good prices but the customer service is not the best. My internet is not the fastest and links me off alot.unfortunatly in my neck of the woods we don't have much choice.

Stacy Wheeler West Unity, OH 2016-07-20

Was this review helpful?    

We have been a customer for over 16 years. During this time we have had trouble staying connected, Very. Very slow service and many time disconnected or can not connect at all and the same with our E-mail account. And don't get me going on the Customer Service.... Not a happy camper :-(

Buddy Phipps Redding, CA 2016-07-19

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


The internet service and wifi is terrible. The service is always cutting out and needs to reset or just doesn't come back at all for long periods of time. The wifi isn't strong enough to watch Netflix in the living room, which is not far from the modem.

Cheryl Gross Columbia Cross Roads, PA 2016-04-07

Was this review helpful?    

28/31 people found this review helpful


I've had Frontier for about 3 years and it has been nothing but problems. Currently I have been without an Internet connection for near two days and have had over ten different stories on why my internet isn't working with the latest being that it will be a week before anyone can come out and fix it. That's not acceptable and I would suggest strongly not ever using this company.

Melissa W Grand Ledge, MI 2016-02-27

Was this review helpful?    

34/37 people found this review helpful


This is an honest opinion/review from an actual long term Frontier customer (ten+ years!) For starters id like to state that by giving a one star rating in all fields isn't because we were just some random unlucky customers that have had problems and decided to rate the service low just because we've had a bad interaction or experience. The price is outrageous for the speeds offered, which once your service is turned on you will see is just a pathetic lie. Customer service is almost as bad as the speeds/prices offered, they could care less if your getting what your paying for, and have in fact lied to us many many times as well as provided inaccurate/conflicting information. I could go on and on addressing all the terrible truths but instead will just end this by saying we've been customers for over ten years and its only because they are/were one of only providers in our area. To sum it up, they lie, overcharge, and could care less about your "provided service" as long as its "connected" and if you don't double check for yourself you might never even know your paying for something your never even getting as well as having your actual speeds "nerfed" without reason or notice. Frontier my friends is HORRIBLE!

LongtimeFrontierCustomer Currentcustomer Meservey, IA 2016-02-15

Was this review helpful?    

29/29 people found this review helpful


I have been with Frontier for over 3 years. In that time the upload and download speeds have been no where near advertised. Speed tests have been completed and confirm way less than the advertised speeds (1/6). I cannot use the dish anywhere feature for Dish because of the sloooowwwww speeds, I am currently looking for anything other than this provider in my service area. I called the service department and they confirmed the slow speed. I was told by I am apparently at the end of the service line. They created a complaint ticket but that has been a year ago and no attempt to make the area better.

Scott Harris Monmouth, IL 2016-01-11

Was this review helpful?    

20/22 people found this review helpful


Frontier is a reasonably priced internet service. The service has been good and fast and even came out to work on it on a National Holiday. The speed is fair, but overall I rate them a good buy for your money.

Tamara Pfeifer Beaverton, OR 2015-09-19

Was this review helpful?    

12/20 people found this review helpful


Frontier for internet is very reasonably priced and service to this old apartment has been great. The speed is fair to good. For the price per month and everything else I give Frontier a good investment of internet money.

Tamara Pfeifer Beaverton, OR 2015-09-19

Was this review helpful?    

6/11 people found this review helpful


Four years with these guys. Speed is atrocious, customer service is marginal. Up time is acceptable. overpriced. Nothing really good to say about the service.

Steve Spence 2015-09-09

Was this review helpful?    

14/16 people found this review helpful


We lose service at least once per month, and when it's something that can't be cured with a simple restart, things get ridiculous. The people who field phone calls claim that they write up repair tickets, but nothing seems to happen to those tickets. As I write this from a coffee shop, we've been without service at home for a week, despite having made numerous calls and having been promised that someone will show up or call the next day. Dreadful company.

Chet O Rochester, NY 2015-08-30

Was this review helpful?    

29/31 people found this review helpful


To start off, we only have access to the Internet during work hours while everyone else is at work. We tried to work with the customer service to upgrade our speed, and that was a nightmare in itself. I finally called to find out that we are in a "high demand area" and there is NOTHING they can do for us. So they can sell us service, but not back it up!?! I would NOT recommend this company to anyone!

Jennifer Monroe Mount Orab, OH 2015-08-10

Was this review helpful?    

15/15 people found this review helpful


I am paying for high speed internet with Frontier and I barely get anything, couldn't even read the reviews on this site all jumbled up and I can not use Netflix. I was told back in April/may they would be working on improving the area in June, well its August and now when I called they have no info about it. I feel like they owe me money. Grafton area beware, frontier does not deliver as promised. Its not like we live in a remote place but they act like it. I will be switching!

Lillian Pickering Grafton, OH 2015-08-04

Was this review helpful?    

13/13 people found this review helpful


We subscribe to Frontier Communications DSL service. Overall, it has performed pretty well. We've had a few outages but nothing as of late. We run two wireless Rokus, a wireless connected computer, and at least three tablets. All at the same time, we haven't had any lag issues. I'm pretty satisfied with Frontier Communications.

Kathleen Stevens Shelby, MI 2015-07-28

Was this review helpful?    

7/12 people found this review helpful


We subscribe to Frontier Communications DSL service. Overall, it has performed pretty well. We've had a few outages but nothing as of late. We run two wireless Rokus, a wireless connected computer, and at least three tablets. All at the same time, we haven't had any lag issues. I'm pretty satisfied with Frontier Communications.

Kathleen Stevens Shelby, MI 2015-07-28

Was this review helpful?    

5/7 people found this review helpful


This is the worst provider available. They have claimed they have had an outage in our area since over a week ago and they still have not fixed my connection. I have been out of internet, out of work, and out of luck for over a week. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! I am going to file a report to the Attorney General and the BBB as well as the FCC.

Jeremiah J Lake Stevens, WA 2015-07-10

Was this review helpful?    

29/30 people found this review helpful


I've had Frontier Simply Broadband Max for about 4 years now, I have had SEVERAL issues with my internet speed, so I've taken SEVERAL FrontierNet Speed Tests! The results show I run at 0.48 mpbs instead of the 6.0 I SHOULD be receiving....I literally have to wait until 2:00 a.m. to be able to process and watch a HD video/movie online! While the rest of the world sleeps, I CAN THEN AND ONLY THEN steam online video's on my system...My mbps run around 2.89 at 3:00 a.m. I have called and asked about the speed being so low, and they stated, "it was unusually LOW", so the suggested I upgrade to Simply Broadband Ultra for an additional $10.00 fee per month, plus a $10.00 fee for the modem, which states in the Frontier page it's free: FREE Frontier Wi-Fi Router that's yours for life. Connect your devices wirelessly with no hidden monthly equipment charges??? Frontier gets you coming AND going, so I suggest if you want to stream videos/music, or anything other than just sit and LOOK at webpages, you choose XFINITY from Comcast, they offer speeds up to 25 mbps for $40.00 per month....Not up to 12 for $40. I would NOT EVER, recommend Frontier Internet to anyone who wants to enjoy the internet during the day....(if you're up at 2:00 a.m. - 6:00 a.m. you get to watch actually enjoy the internet, while the rest of the world sleeps, you may THEN and only then enjoy an internet speed of UP TO 2.86! NO HIGHER in the 3 weeks I've been running the Frontiernet speedtest.) I give them a negative Million and two for speed and reliability....NOT recommended to ANYONE who actually wants to relax and enjoy the internet at the end of a long day....(stay up till 2:00 a.m. to do this).

Angel Prays 2015-07-09

Was this review helpful?    

34/34 people found this review helpful


I really expected more from Frontier. Contacting customer service is a nightmare and our speeds vary more often than a teenagers mood!

Joyce M 2015-07-09

Was this review helpful?    

17/17 people found this review helpful


After Frontier took over my area from Verizon, not only did the quality of my connection go down, but my bill went up a hundred and seventy-five percent. I'm not even sure if this will be posted as I am currently enduring interruptions in my service every three to seven minutes. It reminds me of waiting on dial-up all over again. RIDICULOUS!!!!

Galen M 2015-06-25

Was this review helpful?    

9/9 people found this review helpful


Is good services.when high wings is off signal.the price for second month is diferent to first.say me for month and bill second month is diferent prices.No good.

DAVID CARIAS 2015-05-29

Was this review helpful?    

8/11 people found this review helpful


Frontier gives you great internet for a decent price. And the intaller was very friendly and very informative. Thank you

Alissa Drescher 2015-05-28

Was this review helpful?    

11/18 people found this review helpful


They advertise great speed, but that is not what I experience. Customer service is not very helpful. I would choose a different provider.

Eddie Miller Ida Grove, IA 2015-05-16

Was this review helpful?    

53/55 people found this review helpful


i have been a frontier customer for almost 5 years now. suffered through growing pains which had unreliable dsl service. but now 2015 has arrived and they upgraded thier infrastructure to fiber, way more reliable service no more calls to the help desk. pricing is reasonable for the speeds and bundles they offer are good

David Curran Woodgate, NY 2015-05-15

Was this review helpful?    

17/20 people found this review helpful


It has been pretty good service and the customer service is good. I don't have any complaints.

Debra Evanson Arlington, WA 2014-06-26

Was this review helpful?    

13/22 people found this review helpful


After having been a Comcast customer for over 20 years and the mounting frustration and lack of customer service/care, my only other choice (Comcast has a monopoly in my area) was Frontier. I switched a year ago to Frontier and am still wondering why I didn't do it sooner. It's like a perfect match. I did have issues in the set-up but the technicians that came out were very helpful and polite. I wasn't just a "ticket" but a customer. I haven't had any problems since the initial set up so I can't say how the customer service is but based on the set up, I'm sure it hasn't changed! The speed is fast and I plan on being a customer for a long time.

Lori Berens Swartz Creek, MI 2014-03-19

Was this review helpful?    

33/38 people found this review helpful


Frontier is so inferior in service and quality! The only thing they offer us is dsl lite and are charging us a small fortune for that. They won't put additional sub-stations up so that we can get full high-speed. The internet goes out at least once a month for more than 24 hours. They keep trying to push satellite internet on us which costs over a hundred a month and are saying that is an acceptable solution to our problem. It's not like we live on a deserted island and your monopoly of the internet and phone services in our area needs to end!

Erin S Walton, NY 2014-03-15

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


Frontier seems to be our only provider in our area. Its ok in speed , but it drops service alot. price after contract is over is high.

Brenda Dearth Szwec 2012-07-18

Was this review helpful?    

31/33 people found this review helpful

Details about brand prices, speeds, and other features may not be readily available for all brands and are always subject to change. While the brand reviews on HighSpeedInternet.com are well researched and every attempt is made to keep the information up to date, limited access to relevant information may cause occasional inaccuracies.