HSI Rating
5.7 /10
Customer Rating

"Optimum has great speed and reliability, plus tons of hotspots..."

Aarti Dogra | White Plains, NY

Rating breakdown

3.4
Overall

Speed

Pricing

Service

39 Optimum Customer Reviews

They just dont care. You all know what I mean. Rude customer service, techs that trash your house and dont know what they are doing. Pricing too high to watch movies from the 80's, wifi speeds unstable at best if it works at all, get rid of triple play and you pay more. What a complete rip off.

Pasquale Simonetti 2018-05-23

Was this review helpful?    


I had optimum cable. Always had problems with channels going blank. Also the internet at time was slow. They always told me they were working in the area. I was paying for a service that always had problems.

Jose Marcial 2017-12-16

Was this review helpful?    

3/3 people found this review helpful

See if Optimum is available in your area

Or see availability map


Optimum is super exspensive... they also are a monopoly will not let any other providers in in my area Shirley ..mastic..Mastic Beach... area We do not have FiOS the only other thing we can get is DSL and we must buy the internet from optimum. even if we get a satellite package we can not get the internet from anyone but cable Optimum!!! A horrible horrible horrible company you must pay a month in advance every month

Sue Snizek Mastic, NY 2017-04-17

Was this review helpful?    

19/19 people found this review helpful


Too pricey I hate it optimum raised prices again without notice. Need three devices can't have only internet

Sue Yanez Stratford, CT 2017-01-13

Was this review helpful?    

16/17 people found this review helpful


Optimum provides adequate internet for the home. They are awesome in the amount of hotspots available to subscribers. This is great as to avoid using data.

Robyn Paris Raritan, NJ 2016-08-14

Was this review helpful?    

1/8 people found this review helpful


Service is ok. once and awhile it stutters depending where you are in the house. But its ok

Patti Pickering 2016-01-28

Was this review helpful?    

8/9 people found this review helpful


Cablevision's Internet service is the best much better than their cable. They have excellent customer service representatives to help you with your problems. Their speed is very fast and I am very happy with my Internet connection.

Kevin Gronne 2015-11-19

Was this review helpful?    

5/8 people found this review helpful


Optimum service is satisfactory. Now and then, we've had prolonged outages but most of the time the outages last for just a minute or two. Still, I do not understand why there are so many outages. Otherwise, page loads and downloads are fairly swift.

John Leahy Bronx, NY 2015-07-14

Was this review helpful?    

11/15 people found this review helpful


Cablevision provides quality high-speed internet service. Downloads and page loads are swift and trouble-free. My one complaint is that outages of a short duration tend to occur frequently, sometimes once a day. The service reboots itself within a minute or two but still these outages are annoying and slow me down. My internet is bundled with TV and phone and the pricing is severe. For that reason, I am considering switching to something else as soon as it is feasible.

Catherine Shaw Bronx, NY 2015-07-10

Was this review helpful?    

10/16 people found this review helpful


Optimum/cablevision is really great. love their customer service and the internet speed is great. Just wish the prices were better

Aarti Dogra White Plains, NY 2015-07-09

Was this review helpful?    

6/9 people found this review helpful


Optimum is good, downloads are usually as good as uploads. There customer service could be better. I purchased their internet service a few years ago. I was told was their standard rate. It has gone up drastically. I am on a Very tight budget and could barely afford the "standard rate". I am now looking into finding another carrier. It is just too expensive monthly, in order to pay my bills twice a month and/or check my emails once or twice a week.

Deb R Sayreville, NJ 2015-06-09

Was this review helpful?    

9/11 people found this review helpful


Optimum has great speed and reliability, plus tons of hotspots in the tristate area. I just wish it wasn't so expensive after two years, it makes older customers feel duped by the company

Aarti Dogra White Plains, NY 2015-05-20

Was this review helpful?    

13/17 people found this review helpful


I can get on the internet fairly quickly it's just that I don't have good service in my room and it has lost connection a little more than my liking.

Joella Lockette 2015-05-14

Was this review helpful?    

11/11 people found this review helpful


Cablevision- Optimum only one choice what we have in our area. Sometimes internet very slow, speed and everything else not good enough. Looking forward for better choice and availability of internet provider.

Irene Litvin 2015-04-26

Was this review helpful?    

13/13 people found this review helpful


I think Optimum is getting to be a little pricey. Their service is great. Not too happy with the speed.

Amy Jarratt Stratford, CT 2015-04-25

Was this review helpful?    

13/13 people found this review helpful


I think Optimum is getting to be a little pricey. Their service is great. Not too happy with the speed.

Amy Jarratt Stratford, CT 2015-04-25

Was this review helpful?    

11/13 people found this review helpful


This internet provider, is ok, not great but ok. I don't like their wifi that they advertise because to tell you the truth it doesn't work and I don't care how many hot spots they say there are. It is fast but can be faster and when the cable goes out so does the internet which is most of the time when the cable is out. I don't like their business practices with their catch phrases that this provider costs this amount per month because it does not stay that way so by the time you are in it for over six months your bill is the amount of a rent and I feel they can get away with it because there is not much working competition companies to provide good internet service here where I am located.

Domenica K Miller Place, NY 2015-04-18

Was this review helpful?    

11/11 people found this review helpful


Service is poor, speeds are clipped if godforbid you dare to use your phone (VOIP) AND the internet at the same time during regular business hours and the hardware provided is rubbish. Expect nothing but condescension from "customer service" and a bill that gets higher and higher every single month.

Moira Cochran Lake Hiawatha, NJ 2015-02-25

Was this review helpful?    

14/14 people found this review helpful


Well what can I say? this is a cable company not an internet company, it works but not great. A two because I have internet most of the time, but the speed sucks.

Sweety Brito Bronx, NY 2015-02-03

Was this review helpful?    

20/23 people found this review helpful


I have had nothing but issues from slow internet to frequent disconnections, adding in the high price and the dismal customer service, I am really ready for something better.

Benjamin B Grand Junction, CO 2015-02-02

Was this review helpful?    

25/27 people found this review helpful


I'd like to say all positive things about Cablevision, unfortunately this company interrupts the service very often, not only internet, but cable and phone, and it;s been years and they don't seem to be able to correct this problem, this company is not cheap, they should offer a better service for what they charge monthly, on the other hand when the internet is working the speed is really good, but good things don't seem to last long!

Patricia B Bronx, NY 2014-12-19

Was this review helpful?    

16/17 people found this review helpful


Provides very good speed and reliability throughout the day. Download and upload speeds are very fast. I am very satisfied with the service and I recommend it.

Michael Chinalski Garfield, NJ 2014-12-10

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


Cablevision offers decent speed, somewhat competitive pricing, their service is not that good at all, I lose my internet service every other weekend, and that is everybody in my building that has internet service with Cablevision, they never give you any credit for the at least ten hrs a month i don't have internet service.

Patricia Butts Bronx, NY 2014-10-26

Was this review helpful?    

22/24 people found this review helpful


My internet service is slow some times, and the connection is lost quite frequently. As for as the price I would prefer it to be cheaper and the service is average.

BARBARA BROWN Peekskill, NY 2014-10-18

Was this review helpful?    

10/10 people found this review helpful


I am not impressed with my service. The television freezes often and the online speed has recently gotten very slow. Very little for a lot.

Sharon Johanson Wilton, CT 2014-08-14

Was this review helpful?    

11/11 people found this review helpful


I like the speed for the most part but the pricing is way too high. With the availability of internet these days prices should go down.

Angela Minakakis Mastic, NY 2014-07-11

Was this review helpful?    

13/15 people found this review helpful


cost to much . service is good.custermer service is the best.except for the long waiting times on phone calls for help.

Marc Woronoff 2014-06-30

Was this review helpful?    

9/9 people found this review helpful


I like this service because it is very fast.It takes no time at all to download and for the pages to load.I would reccomend this highly.

Laurie Damrose Toms River, NJ 2014-06-24

Was this review helpful?    

9/11 people found this review helpful


Very spotty service. Sometimes it's fast, sometimes slow as mud. Can't get a good price for connection unless you buy a package....

Beth Balousek Monroe, NY 2014-05-03

Was this review helpful?    

9/9 people found this review helpful


Bresnan is a great company. They are willing to work with you to make sure your connection is working.

Kim May Missoula, MT 2014-04-16

Was this review helpful?    

12/15 people found this review helpful


Good customer service. Sometimes connection is a bit iffy. I feel like it could be better. Price is the same as other competitors.

Vena Silverstein Seaford, NY 2014-04-14

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


The best internet provider out there with "Best Customer Service" plus "Excellent Quality Internet" plus "Fastest Internet Speeds" plus "Lowest Price". Means Optimum has everything an internet customer is looking for. Keep it up.

Hiren P Parsippany, NJ 2014-03-26

Was this review helpful?    

8/10 people found this review helpful


cablevision has been good to me. It doesn't go out on me or anything. prices are competitive. theres also an office close by if I need to go there

Patricia Shaffery Howell, NJ 2014-03-25

Was this review helpful?    

8/9 people found this review helpful


I like our service its actually all that I know. I have nothing else to compare it to. but I can say that customer service is good and speed is great. pricing is competitive with others.

Patricia Shaffery Howell, NJ 2014-03-24

Was this review helpful?    

8/9 people found this review helpful


we use cablevision optimum online for our cable services including phone and computer. I am pleased with the services we have. Speed is good and customer service is nice.

Patricia Shaffery Howell, NJ 2014-03-21

Was this review helpful?    

8/9 people found this review helpful


Cablevision has high speed internet, phone, cable for a reasonable price. Also, when I could not get online they walked me through the solution.

Karen Casucci Wappingers Falls, NY 2014-03-21

Was this review helpful?    

9/10 people found this review helpful


we have used optimum online for about 15 years now. speed is good --nice and fast, at least enough for our purposes. the price is competitive with other services. service is good. usually hafta wait a few days for someone to come out to fix something. I have nothing else to compare this to as this has been our only service.

Mark Shaffery Howell, NJ 2014-03-20

Was this review helpful?    

8/9 people found this review helpful


Too many interruptions for cable broadband.

Scott Davidson Kalispell, MT 2014-03-19

Was this review helpful?    

17/20 people found this review helpful


I've used Cablevision for 25 years, tv and internet are very dependable. the only time there has ever been an extended problem has been during a severe weather incident. I think I've only called for service twice, which involved the replacement of the outside wires, connectors and splitters.

Tom McMahon Oradell, NJ 2014-03-19

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


I've used cablevision since living in this house for about 11 years. I have nothing to compare it to since I haven't used any other service. I am happy with it, it works well speed wise. I never lose service like I did with a dish service that I had used (too much interference with trees in my area, it never worked so I cant rate that one). People are nice customer service wise. The only thing is that sometimes it takes a week for them to come out for an appt. but you rarely need to make one so that's not even really an inconvenience. all around im pleased.

Patricia Shaffery Howell, NJ 2014-03-19

Was this review helpful?    

8/9 people found this review helpful


Ive had it for years and i still love it, i wouldnt switch 15mbps for anythingverizon or att could give, and i have never had a problem with the provider.

Carlos Urenaa 2012-04-26

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful

Details about brand prices, speeds, and other features may not be readily available for all brands and are always subject to change. While the brand reviews on HighSpeedInternet.com are well researched and every attempt is made to keep the information up to date, limited access to relevant information may cause occasional inaccuracies.

Back to top