HSI Rating
6.5 /10
Customer Rating

"Very pleased with the Internet provided by Windstream..."

Gayle Brennick | Berea, KY

Rating breakdown

2.6
Overall

Speed

Pricing

Service

57 Windstream Customer Reviews

The internet service we have is good, but pricey. The service itself isn't to expensive, but all the other charges they add on make the price jump drastically.

Staci Moore Clayton, GA 2017-01-27

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful



Service was awful. They came and hooked up internet & phone, forgot to hook up to pole outside. Tried for a month to get someone out to fix. No phone for a month. Still charged us. Price kept going up. Wifi was unreliable.

Jodi Eastin Lincoln, NE 2016-10-08

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful

See if Windstream is available in your area

Or see availability map


Service was awful. They came and hooked up internet & phone, forgot to hook up to pole outside. Tried for a month to get someone out to fix. No phone for a month. Still charged us. Price kept going up. Wifi was unreliable. VERY UNSATISFIED

Jodi Eastin Lincoln, NE 2016-10-08

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


They are by far the worst internet provider in the world!!! It's slow,shuts off constantly, and cost close to a 100.00 a month. They have sent us faulty routers in the past that work broke the second they were plugged in. They're entire company is a joke. I stream Netflix and Hulu through my Xbox and have gone weeks without being able to use Hulu due to the poor service. They need to sell to Comcast and just quit.

Jake Daniels Clarksville, PA 2016-09-26

Was this review helpful?    

Have used wind stream since moving here. At times the connection drops, but with the amount of people sharing usage in our home, the service works for us.

Rebecca Reed New Boston, TX 2016-09-08

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


Terrible service....small market and 5 days without phone or internet before a tech can get to my house.

Darin Kelsey Lincoln, NE 2016-08-15

Was this review helpful?    

Windstream has fast Internet connection. I have had no problems with pages not loadin or anything else. Very reliable and reasonable prices.

Regina Freeman Calvert City, KY 2016-08-04

Was this review helpful?    

0/2 people found this review helpful


Windstream is the worst company for customer service. I have been a customer for over 30 years. (The only reason I still am is because they have a monopoly on hard line internet service in my area.) They have canceled on 5 straight service appointments and then they act like it is a gift from God for them to come do the service that was paid for. One occasion Windstream canceled twice and then just sent my the equipment in the mail and told me to install it. If you have any other options....do yourself a favor and take it!!!!!!

Rob F Crescent City, FL 2016-08-01

Was this review helpful?    

The internet is pretty good,although the speed could be better,sometimes the internet is dropped at pretty important times.

Dion Nash Texarkana, TX 2016-07-31

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


Too high price for so little use. Live on a fixed income and only use PC for paying bills electronic

Shirley Harper Glenwood, AR 2016-06-24

Was this review helpful?    

Have had cable internet and Windstream. The Windstream is by far the poorest internet provider,but they are a few dollars cheaper than the cable provider. Service is bad at best. At least three or four days per month you can't log on. My "high speed" is no more than six mbps. Might as well have dial-up. Unfortunately, one of only two games in town. I would not recommend it.

Edie Thomas 2016-03-01

Was this review helpful?    

11/11 people found this review helpful


I've had Windstream twice; both times I had fair services and pricing but the service was mediocre. Hard to get someone to come out and fix anything.

AMelia McGough Columbia, KY 2015-10-05

Was this review helpful?    

8/9 people found this review helpful


I live in a small (very small) town, and am grateful I can get DSL, so I'm very happy that Windstream offers high speed DSL service in my area. I'm paying for "up to" the highest offered speed. That's optimum speed when there aren't a lot of people using it, too. Sometimes, the speed will dip down to almost nothing. I feel that I'm not getting the speed that I'm paying for. However, most of the time I am able to watch movies and shows online. Customer service is excellent. Windstream almost always responds right away if I have questions or problems.

Tommi Hilts 2015-09-07

Was this review helpful?    

6/6 people found this review helpful


Our internet dropped at least ten times a day for a long time. I kept calling to report it and they were great about sending someone out to try and fix it but it never helped. They eventually changed our modem, this did helped a little. Recently it started dropping every few minutes and no one could figure out what was wrong with it. I got lucky one day and the person that I talked to was very helpful she suggested that we move the modem as far away from out television as possible to see if it fixed our problems. So far we haven't had as many drops, still a couple a day but it comes right back on so we can deal with that. Everyone that I have talked to on the phone and that's been to my house have been very kind and did what they could to help.

Jerrica Evans 2015-08-11

Was this review helpful?    

5/5 people found this review helpful


Customer service reps are always nice and seem to want to help but in the end their is nothing they can seem to do about the terrible speeds that Windstream have for internet. Don't even get me started on the pricing. Have constant lag issues, internet dropping and the wifi barely usable at all. Have to pay for a house phone with the internet service even though I don't use the thing. Don't even have a house phone plugged in. It is ridiculous that they can charge these rates when other companies like Mediacom and AT&T can offer WAY better service and deals. I hope that Fair Play gets more net options soon. This is crazy.

Lisa C Fair Play, MO 2015-08-04

Was this review helpful?    

9/9 people found this review helpful


I Love Windstream, The Price is Reasonable and the Service is excellent, I highly recommend Windstream.

Joy Hicks 2015-07-29

Was this review helpful?    

5/6 people found this review helpful


We've been pleased with our internet provider. We hardly ever lose connection, it's fast, but can be a little expensive.

Jaimee Edwards Washington, IA 2015-07-23

Was this review helpful?    

5/5 people found this review helpful


I am very unhappy with Windstream. We are always losing the signal and the broadband goes completely out county wide. It has taken up to four days for it to be fixed before. I have wifi but I can only use it in the room that has the modem. Windstream makes up excuses about why the signal is so low. They have even claimed that it is because I use a cordless phone or because I have a metal roof on my house.

Crystal Gibson Bee Spring, KY 2015-07-09

Was this review helpful?    

6/7 people found this review helpful


Internet has been out for three days on an outage that was supposed to be fixed two days ago. We've been waiting on the technician for two years. Guy called me and said he couldn't find the place and I looked at my window at told him he was in the right driveway and he backed out and claimed he was driving down the road, Their customer service reps are horrible. They could care less about customer and they make it obvious. Also the internet itself is horrible. Paying for the max speed in the area and not even getting half that. Another issue they failed to resolve. Please don't waste your money on this horrible company.

Chae Rutledge Cecilia, KY 2015-05-31

Was this review helpful?    

12/13 people found this review helpful


Internet very slow, can become pricey for faster services and internet is limited. Please do your homework before you commit... :(

Carmella Pryor Indian Trail, NC 2015-05-08

Was this review helpful?    

21/24 people found this review helpful


I have had this service for two months I pay for six mps and have been receiving one to three mps after calling about slow speeds many times it is now less useable it may work for ten seconds then freeze for ten to thirty seconds and it will do this the entire time while trying to use it.

Wendel Pace Byron, GA 2015-05-02

Was this review helpful?    

12/12 people found this review helpful


slow speeds if you want to play online gaming. Netflix and surfing are fine. The pricing should reflect speed .

Dorotha Holloway Karnack, TX 2015-04-17

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


Have been having trouble with loosing my internet connection, frequently in the past few months, its not very fast but it use to be reliable. The price keeps going up but the quality is going down. Unfortunately where I live doesn't have a lot of options. Windstream use to be quite good, not sure whats happened or what they have changed, but was much happier with the service a couple years ago.

June Love Washington, IA 2015-04-08

Was this review helpful?    

10/10 people found this review helpful


Very pleased with the internet provided by Windstream. It's fast even though I only have Six Mpbs. Very pleased with installation and help with problems

Gayle Brennick Berea, KY 2015-03-23

Was this review helpful?    

8/9 people found this review helpful


the technical support for internet is deplorable. I paid for all the extras and had to wait too long to get any help either from the virtual agent or the agent over the phone. in addition every time a tech fixed something,he ruined something else so that eventually i spend interminable hours troubleshooting and now my laptop takes too long to start,to long to restart,too long to access websites and it also suddenly goes back to the start page. After i discontinued one extra tech service they became uncooperative and refused even the minimal help they used to give me before i had subscribed to the additional tech help. As an example i asked for help with internet explorer and after numerous sessions the tech switched me to Mozilla and told me i could no longer use internet explorer. They also ruined my Windows Life Mail and now i can not use the many websites that offer a direct email link. They also lost many of my saved pictures which i use for getting signed up with casting agencies and for answering casting calls,so i lost many acting jobs plus many the agencies dont want to cast me for failure to reply to calls.

Rachel Lemus Lake Butler, FL 2015-03-10

Was this review helpful?    

11/11 people found this review helpful


Have had mindstream for a few years now and it has terrible speed! My modem has been replaced many times now and they say nothing is wrong with the phone lines. The sad thing is it affects my laptop which is wireless, my desktop which is direct connect and they cannot speed it up! It costs alot a month for such slow speeds! Please help!!!

Deborah Felkel Elloree, SC 2015-02-24

Was this review helpful?    

9/9 people found this review helpful


Have used this company since for over twenty five years. For the most part, they have given me good service, but their pricing is inconsistent. Think tech help could be improved.

Mary McDuffie Warm Springs, GA 2015-02-05

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


The only problem I've had since the start of my contract with Windstream is the internet speed. I've never had a speed test get to half their advertised download speed. It's usually been less than one third of of that. The advertised speed is potential maximum; I expected lower than speeds from start but never one third the advertised speed. On the other hand their satellite t.v. has had great reception.

Brian Cedillo 2015-02-01

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


I really am impressed with the speed of the Internet we have from Windstream. At only.. small number MPS.. it plays online games and streams movies and surfs all at the same time with hardly any lag. It was only a small circular range from the wireless hub, so we bought an extender to take it further..now we have coverage outside, perfect for summer parties!

Add Mertens 2015-01-18

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


My husband and I are not happy with the internet through Windstream. We are not able to do everything that we want with it. It has to be rebooted constantly.

Jessica Suttles Ashland, KY 2015-01-12

Was this review helpful?    

10/12 people found this review helpful


Windstream's customer service is very good, and their employees are usually very kind and helpful. The pricing seems to be about average, but the speed in my area is very slow because the load is too much for the system. Streaming is slow at times too. Internet service sometimes goes off from minutes to hours.

Kim Stone Hilliard, FL 2015-01-07

Was this review helpful?    

9/9 people found this review helpful


I have the max speed and it is very good here in my area. I have had only one outage and it was due to an area wide outage for only one night and the next day it was restored and I even got a call from customer service and from a technician to follow up on my service call. Very cool.

DAVID STEWART Clarkesville, GA 2014-12-26

Was this review helpful?    

8/9 people found this review helpful


Windstream has too many problems keeping internet speed at what you pay for, it varies minute by minute. Just not reliable and as for the value, too high for what you get!

Robert Smith Byron, GA 2014-12-13

Was this review helpful?    

11/11 people found this review helpful


Windstream seems to have the best price so far compared to other competitors. I don't care much for their customer service. The speed is fair. There were a few times this year that we didn't have internet for a whole day due to maintenance. The price is usually why we stay with them.

Amy Puckett Canton, GA 2014-12-06

Was this review helpful?    

10/10 people found this review helpful


Windstream's DSL speeds are painfully slow, and the signal frequently cuts out. They simply do not have the bandwidth in our area to provide the speeds they advertise. There are times that dial-up would be better. I have contacted them multiple times via email regarding the problem, and I have never received any type of response.

Kevin M Cross Plains, TX 2014-11-16

Was this review helpful?    

10/10 people found this review helpful


I being with Windstream over two yrs and I must say I enjoy their service and customer service. I can call and they are always there for me.

Victoria Bullock Prentiss, MS 2014-10-22

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


We have had trouble since we first moved. The service shuts down often. Slows down when we have too many devices.

Michaelene Doyle Fairfax, OK 2014-10-21

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


Windstream is the only dsl in my area thus it is expensive and has very few upgrades but when it works it works very well. If I could find a different supplier I would.

Kevin Beresford Walker, IA 2014-10-20

Was this review helpful?    

10/10 people found this review helpful


my internet slows down and is out allot. they do not work good hours for costumers that work the same hours as they do and make costumers loose money waiting for them to show up all day.

Katrina Bingham Denton, NC 2014-10-20

Was this review helpful?    

9/9 people found this review helpful


The internet provided by Windstream is at a reasonable price. The only downfall is that we have a lot of issues with the broadband wireless going down. This happens pretty frequently. Sometimes the internet is so slow that it won't even open web pages.

Crystal G Bee Spring, KY 2014-10-17

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


My internet is with Winstream phone company in Ohio. It's not the fastest and I can't play games sometimes and it freezes up.

Jennifer Corrado Columbia Station, OH 2014-10-16

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


We had Windstream for several years and the service kept getting slower and slower. Finally we got tired of paying for something we could not use. The technician told us the bandwith from Dallas to Whitney was not wide enough to service the demand. After paying what we paid for over eleven years you would think they could have corrected the issue. No we have a wifi card from AT&T. We have to monitor usage but at least we can use it.

Crystal Tipton Whitney, TX 2014-09-19

Was this review helpful?    

10/10 people found this review helpful


Every time we have a problem ( which is quite common where we live) the Windstream tech service crew have always been easy to understand and very helpful. This is something I appreciate, since when working with other online tech services I get frustrated with people who are difficult to understand, or are not able to actually help.

Travis Turner Guys Mills, PA 2014-09-14

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


Windstream Broadband provides internet service to rural areas in Georgia. The speed is less than bigger internet providers, but many times this company is the only option for rural users in Georgia like myself. Pricing is fair and they respond quickly if you experience any problems. Service personnel are knowledgeable and friendly.

Kathy Morgan Winterville, GA 2014-08-06

Was this review helpful?    

12/13 people found this review helpful


I signed up at a kiosk they had set up downtown during move-in week. They had someone follow me home to set it up and I had internet within thirty minutes. I never had any issues with the service or speed.

Jordan B State College, PA 2014-07-23

Was this review helpful?    

9/10 people found this review helpful


Great service provider and the price is unbeatable! We bought our own equipment and haven't had any trouble installing anything, if we had any questions , the customer service was always there to help and let me tell you, there isn't any automated answering service, you talk with a real person..

Svetlana K Grafton, OH 2014-07-19

Was this review helpful?    

9/9 people found this review helpful


Windstream. The internet you can't avoid. It's not the worst internet out there (you could have satellite internet), but it's also not the best. It tends to run pretty slow, not so slowly that you want to run and cry, but slow enough that you dread loading up all those vacation pictures onto Facebook. The service is pretty meh as well, one time, after unhooking the internet to the house for maintenance, they simply forgot to plug it back in and we were without internet for four days. Not cool. So overall, Windstream is just a so so internet provider that you have to put up with in areas of less population.

Shannon M Winterville, GA 2014-07-16

Was this review helpful?    

24/24 people found this review helpful


CRMU gives good internet but it tends to cutout every once in a while, they over price it buy a LOT if you want fiber even though its the same speed.

Cody Kunecke Coon Rapids, IA 2014-07-12

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


Windstream internet is not very reliable, I can not get online or it crashes a lot. I have just bought a brand new computer with windows and it still runs slow and has the above mentioned issues.

Carolyn Bezak Jeannette, PA 2014-07-11

Was this review helpful?    

26/28 people found this review helpful


Windstream has been very good to me. They are timely in their arrival to do any necessary repairs. They also work with me on the billing.

Autumn Kelly Callahan, FL 2014-07-06

Was this review helpful?    

12/12 people found this review helpful


I get great service and support from my provider here in this county. They are quick to fix any errors and establish service after a outage.

Lesa Jones Cleveland, GA 2014-07-05

Was this review helpful?    

8/11 people found this review helpful


I have had this provider for 5 years now the service and speed or okay wish they would be faster and fair on pricing

LISA OTTENWELLER Odenville, AL 2014-06-26

Was this review helpful?    

10/10 people found this review helpful


Windstream is a great company, however our internet can be spotty, especially during bad weather. However, in general, I would say we are pretty satisfied with the speed of our internet.

Kimberly Kihega Texarkana, TX 2014-05-19

Was this review helpful?    

15/15 people found this review helpful


Windstream DSL internet is slow. Speed and ping is inconsistent.

Alexander Rada Stow, OH 2014-03-24

Was this review helpful?    

30/31 people found this review helpful


While they have good customer service, their actual internet service in our area is not great. We are always losing Wi-fi connection, and our speed is often very slow. It is fast when it actually does work though, but it just comes and goes.

Kimberly Kihega Texarkana, TX 2014-03-20

Was this review helpful?    

39/41 people found this review helpful


I have had quite a bit of trouble with my internet ever since I got Windstream. It's very slow, and I have the fastest that they have. It keeps going out, and when I call to talk to someone, the customer service reps are not nice. The only good experience I had, was when I talked to a manager finally, and he was so nice and tried to get things fixed for me..

Theresa Melhinch Elyria, OH 2014-03-19

Was this review helpful?    

16/16 people found this review helpful


The service is good the price is fair but I am not to happy with the speed quality it also seems to go down a lot, unable to access the internet at times it seems to run slow at times during the week.

LISA OTTENWELLER Odenville, AL 2014-03-19

Was this review helpful?    

16/16 people found this review helpful


Service is terrible don't expect to get near what you pay for. Have been on windstream for almost 4 years they are always going to improve it next april. The locked in price lasted 2 months

Dale T Rush, KY 2014-03-15

Was this review helpful?    

8/8 people found this review helpful


I haven't had any problems with Windstream. It is very quick as far as speed goes.

Brittany Reece-Williams 2012-04-25

Was this review helpful?    

9/9 people found this review helpful

Details about brand prices, speeds, and other features may not be readily available for all brands and are always subject to change. While the brand reviews on HighSpeedInternet.com are well researched and every attempt is made to keep the information up to date, limited access to relevant information may cause occasional inaccuracies.