HSI Rating
5.8 /10
Customer Rating

"Mediacom is a pretty nice ISP… and I'm paying what I feel is a pretty reasonable price..."

Alicia Cathcart | Ava, MO

Rating breakdown

2.9
Overall

Speed

Pricing

Service

15 Mediacom Customer Reviews

Mediacom high speed internet is the WORST! If you live in Columbia, MO you are basically forced to use them for your high speed internet needs. I have been a customer for over 15 years and have NEVER had good service. I constantly check competitors to see if there is a company I can switch to. I pay for 100 down/ 10 up and the best I have ever gotten is 28 down/ 3 up. Service goes out completely for days at a time and when you call they do the exact same trouble shooting procedure then set you up with an appointment. Problem is they NEVER fix the actual problem. They hook up to the modem and say it is working now. (NO CRAP!!!) I have had more than one technician and service man tell me the problem is down the line and the whole neighborhood has problem BUT they don't fix it. They just keep pocketing our money and KNOWINGLY give us substandard to NONEXISTENT service. SHAME ON YOU MEDIACOM!

Jennifer Schulte Columbia, MO 2016-12-23

Was this review helpful?    


Horrendous customer service & internet reliability. If there were any alternative in COMO I'd switch. Days without service and latency/speed issues every day after 5pm make them a complete waste of time. When I requested assistance to troubleshoot my intermittent service they said they could have someone out, in a week. If you call in the evenings you get the finest of customer service, from India.

Craig Chandler Columbia, MO 2016-10-02

Was this review helpful?    

0/2 people found this review helpful

See if Mediacom is available in your area

Or see availability map


I've had Mediacom internet and cable for over 20 years. The cable is fine, always working, but the internet is atrocious. 26 disconnects in 3 days, after 3 service calls is unacceptable. Their solution every single time is to reset the modem and blame the router(which is new). Aside from the last technician, they're lazy and unwilling to get to the bottom of the problem. Felt good to cancel Mediacom internet for gig fiber optic service from another provider.

Heather L Oskaloosa, IA 2016-07-11

Was this review helpful?    

0/1 people found this review helpful


Surprised by overage fees when told it was unlimited. Customer services had no apologies said that the info was posted. Perhaps it was but obviously didn't think it applied to accounts already set up. Very dissappointed

Julie K Glenwood, IA 2016-03-10

Was this review helpful?    

10/13 people found this review helpful


I have had different types of internet service while living in a variety of areas within the United States and abroad. I have had Mediacom now for nine months and I am truly disappointed in the consistency of its speed. Several times during any given month, my internet proceeds at a crawl (less than one Megabit per second download speed) usually during times when it is either raining, very windy or extremely cold. I have called and had a technician inspect the problem without any resolution. Funny thing is the problem resolves itself with a change in the weather. The technician says everything is working fine on their end and one even told me that my 6-month old modem was not working properly as "they go out routinely". The irony is that there is a fiber optic cable running about 100 feet from my house that Mediacom doesn't use. They know how much to charge and have numerous commercials glorifying their service yet in practicality, the reality is their internet is very poor.

Tony B West Des Moines, IA 2016-03-08

Was this review helpful?    

15/16 people found this review helpful


Mediacom is the fastest internet cable I've ever had, most of my neighbors have them too. They have wonderful customer service too. My only issue with Mediacom is that there prices are high which isn't good for lower to middle class people..

Kristina Potter Wyoming, IL 2016-02-19

Was this review helpful?    

7/13 people found this review helpful


My internet speed does not support my needs for working from home. I am now finding out that part of the problem is likely in the ancient modem Mediacom is leasing to me. Service drops regularly once to multiple times per week some of which seem to be scheduled outages where customers are not provided notice. When their is an outage you are sent to a recording that confirms the fact. You can not speak to an agent, they never provide ETAs and they have this system that notifies you when service returns, which calls you per zone restored. Last time I got six calls BEFORE my service was up, telling me it had been restored. RUN!!!

Judy R 2015-12-11

Was this review helpful?    

7/8 people found this review helpful


Constant loss of internet, It's slows your connection down if you have online usage for long periods of time. At times you have to unplug their modem & reboot computer .

Carrie S Oak Grove, KY 2015-12-03

Was this review helpful?    

10/12 people found this review helpful


Speed is good. Pricing is a little expensive. Service is good when it works....but there are times it is down and times when it is working, but some pages load and some do not.

Delilah Martin 2015-11-25

Was this review helpful?    

7/10 people found this review helpful


The internet is so fast. Television is nice too. I'm just getting a phone so we'll see how that goes.

Dennis Sanderson 2015-11-24

Was this review helpful?    

6/11 people found this review helpful


Mediacom provides a reasonable price for the basic package. Poor customer retention, promotion offers for existing customers. Basic package is too restricted for cord-cutting with any quality over Standard Definition.

William Schwegel 2015-11-08

Was this review helpful?    

6/11 people found this review helpful


The cable internet speed is awesome, so much so that terrible service, pathetic accountability and frequent outages have to be tolerated because of their monopoly on high speed. If they had any competitor like fiber optic, customers like me would switch in seconds

Scott S Chanhassen, MN 2015-09-20

Was this review helpful?    

21/22 people found this review helpful


Mediacom has been truthful both on the phone and in person. I've had Mediacom for 5 years now, here in North Liberty and Iowa City. The help line has been helpful in there automated and live conversations I had over the years. I also deal with the support desk for my computer and they got my computer up and running every time. With your 25 MBPS it is the fastest around, and enjoy the great service on the phone and in person.

Clarence Mueller 2015-08-12

Was this review helpful?    

6/8 people found this review helpful


Mediacom is a pretty nice ISP. The connection is pretty stable, and I'm paying what I feel is a pretty reasonable price. Their service is normally pretty good, customer service over the phone especially. We may have had a hiccup or two in the past but it was nothing particularly serious.

Alicia Cathcart 2015-07-28

Was this review helpful?    

16/16 people found this review helpful


Mediacom internet is a reliable company, with high speed (sometimes requiring you to talk to their support staff to fix connection speed issues), but they have recently introduced data usage caps which leads to overage charges. Once you go over, you pay for each 50 GB block of data you consume. If you're over by 5 GB, that's one block. If you're over by 50.001 GB, that's 2 blocks. Many users won't hit their cap, but family homes with people who stream video and play video games online and download the games from the internet will be up against the data cap each month and will have to cut back to avoid overages.

Matt A Columbus, GA 2015-07-06

Was this review helpful?    

32/36 people found this review helpful


The price and speed are very good, The service is great, if there is a problem most times it is fixed before I know anything has happened!!

Peggy Mays Albany, GA 2015-07-04

Was this review helpful?    

9/10 people found this review helpful


I have my internet service with Mediacom. I prefer Mediacom over anyone else because I have had service for many years, and I have never had a problem that could not be solved through customer service. I have phone, internet and cable with Mediacom for a reasonable price. My family is all for Mediacom!

Maisha Brown 2012-04-26

Was this review helpful?    

18/33 people found this review helpful

Details about brand prices, speeds, and other features may not be readily available for all brands and are always subject to change. While the brand reviews on HighSpeedInternet.com are well researched and every attempt is made to keep the information up to date, limited access to relevant information may cause occasional inaccuracies.